Weight Loss Challenge: Day 10!!

So 10 days ago I challenged myself to reach a new weight loss goal.  I’m not much of a planner in most situations so I knew already that treating this like a job would only lead me to bad results.  I consider myself at most times a “doer so this needed to be something I could execute quickly without much thought. So what did I decide…

…I stopped eating meat.

Now anyone who knows me knows that I not only love my meat ( lol ) but I also am a king of BBQ and bacon alike. So I took the hardest thing I could think of and decided to make it my new strength.  After 9+ years serving with the U.S. Army, I’m used to giving things up for long periods of time. So this was a no brainer. The first 2-3 days were the hardest since everyday my friends wanted to go out and I had to forcefully decline. See if this was gonna work it had to be on my terms. While I tend to work best with a team, this was a road that I had to start alone if I was truly going to succeed. I now stand 10 days into my own personal challenge feeling better than I had before and making strides to living a much healthier life overall. 

Understand that this choice is not a permanent one. I love meat too much to never eat it again. I am giving myself 30 days to reshape my life as a whole starting with my diet. I have been to scared to hop on a scale to weigh myself since I started so I don’t know my actual weight loss as of yet. Day 15, being the mid point in this exercise, will be the official weigh in day. Those of you still with me, I appreciate the vote of confidence. I will list below some of the cooking alternatives that have helped me tremendously through this process.

– Richard a.k.a Toastman

Chinese Vegetarian Cookbook – Some great recipes in here!

Jason Ferruggia’s Easy Vegan Recipes – Interesting ways to spice up plain vegetables

Leave a Reply

